A natural cave with viewing platforms, unparalleled views over the local scenery, and the only formal camera obscura in England.
A former snuff mill, the building was first transformed into an observatory in the mid-19th century by the artist William West. In 1892, West replaced his telescope with a camera obscura, which created panoramic views with a lens and sloping mirror. His device is still in place today, offering a unique view of the Clifton suspension bridge and surrounding landscape.
Visit the Clifton Observatory website to find out more.